Latest News Articles From Across Scotland

HRP Preview 21-09
19th of September 2019

It's the second successive weeks at Lochgelly Raceway with TWO Scottish Championships up for grab!!

The Junior Productions have been an ever improving formula throughout the 2019 season and with just shy of 15 cars booked into race this weekend, the Rogerson Coach Travel Scottish Championship is going to be a hotly contested event. The all action 1300 Stock Cars are also racing for their Scottish Championship; the bumper brigade will be out to put on a show and it is expected that the Scottish Championship race may be a fiercely contested event, one that you don't want to miss!!

The Junior Productions started the season off with around 8 cars and numbers have grown substantially as the season has went on. With the emergence of the likes of Kyle Rogerson and Jensen Bell, there is no one driver who you would say is a sure thing to take the honours this weekend. There will be a new champion however, as reigning champion Cameron Willacy has now moved on from the formula and is unable to defend the championship. Koddi Wright and Harvey Sneddon will likely start as pre race favourites as they have been the most consistent drivers throughout the course of the season, however, with the likes of Logan Tweedie and Jamie Stewart having recently joined the formula, the competition has certainly improved. Amy Devine and Dylan Smart have both also shown good speed in recent meetings and are capable of challenging for the race wins. 2 reverse grid heats will determine the grid for the Scottish Championship race with the grids being drawn prior to the race meeting commencing.

The 1300 Stock Cars Scottish Championship is currently held by Zak Gilmour and at the time of writing, Zak is not booked in to defend the championship having sold his car a few weeks ago. The main race will be drawn from a hat which will make the race a bit of a lottery and those up front may not necessarily be in the best place depending on who starts behind!! Sean Naismith has been the inform driver in recent weeks and will fancy his chances of taking success. Danny Whyte and Eddie Corr will also fancy their chances, with both drivers having the speed and ability to be challenging, however, much will depend on who survives the race as there is likely to be a lot of action. Andrew Mathieson, Steven Gold and Rory Naismith will all be looking to be in the mix of things as well and none of the three are afraid to get involved in a bumper match! Billy Wilson returns to action and the former Scottish Champion will be hoping to make it entertaining as he looks to come through from the back of the grid. Thomas Smith makes his 1300 Stock Car debut as well!

The Stock Rods are a little down on numbers with a few drivers missing due to other commitments, however that should open up the opportunity for a number of other drivers to step up and take the plaudits for the success - Gary Dean and Darren McAlpine will be hoping to capitalise with Chris Lattka and Siobhan Martin both missing from action. However, Kerr Paterson makes a return to racing this weekend, and the former British Champion will be hoping to hit the ground running. Andy Grant has been in excellent form of late from blue grade, and will be hoping to continue that this weekend as he aims to make a return to red grade. Stewart Paterson has a choice of cars to use this weekend having purchased the Gary Nicholls car as well.

The CC Rods are back with us for the 2nd week in succession. Gary Nicholls intends to make an appearance in the ex Ian Taylor CC Rod this weekend as he looks to end the season before recharging his batteries for 2020. Lee Wotherspoon is expected to be back with us this weekend, despite suffering some damage last week as he continues his battle for the track championship with Ian Donaldson. Andrew Nelson and Paul Winfield are both back with us having made their debut's last weekend and will be looking to continue to get to know the cars and the track. The non contact formula have been in excellent form yet again throughout 2019 and have seen a lot of good racing and continue to do so here at Lochgelly Raceway.

The Ministox are with us for the first time since their National Championship weekend, and good numbers are again expected. Over 20 cars are booked into race, including a number of drivers who are making their debut in the formula - Dean Heeps and Lia Heeps. Dean has recently been raising Ninja Karts but has recently became to old so makes the jump straight into the Ministox. Charlie Hardie has had a difficult time of it of late since moving upto red grade, however will be hoping to get a bit of luck at his home track this weekend as he looks to score some points. Mitch Gold has opened up a bit of a gap at the top of the national points charts as the battle goes on between himself, Scott Allardyce and Ciaran Adams. Aaron Richards has a good gap at the top of the track championship, almost 100 points ahead of his nearest challenger Taylor Borthwick. An incredible effort has been put in by Aaron and his team this year to be with us at every meeting so far. Taylor herself though, was in excellent form last time here at Lochgelly as she secured the National Championship title after an epic battle and last lap challenge with Aaron Richards.

Join us on Saturday 21st September for an entertaining 5 formula line up!

Pre Meeting practice will take place from 1530-1630.

Provisional Running Order
Race 1 Junior Productions Heat 1
Race 2 Stock Rods Heat 1
Race 3 CC Rods Heat 1
-- 1300 Stock Car Parade Lap [Driver must have overalls] --
Race 4 1300 Stock Cars Scottish Championship
Race 5 Ministox Heat 1
Race 6 Junior Productions Heat 2
Race 7 Stock Rods Heat 2
Race 8 CC Rods Heat 2
Race 9 1300 Stock Cars Heat 1
Race 10 Ministox Heat 2
-- Junior Productions Parade Lap [Driver must have overalls] --
Race 11 Junior Productions Scottish Championship
Race 12 Stock Rods Final
Race 13 CC Rods Final
Race 14 1300 Stock Cars Heat 2
Race 15 Ministox Heat 2

Booking Lists
Stock Rods
7 Andy Grant
27 Gary Dean
40 Chris Leslie
46 Stewart Paterson
52 Alan Cuthbert
67 Kerr Paterson
184 Peter Thomson*
248 David Crichton
557 Jock McEwan
721 Darren McAlpine
878 Chris Dearn

Junior Productions
5 Jack Beresford
9 Amy Devine
17 Dylan Smart
35 Jas Walle
50 Leona Anderson
88 Kyle Rogerson
112 Chloe Baird
127 Lennon Grant
174 Logan Tweedie
188 Jamie Stewart
232 Harvey Sneddon
352 Koddi Wright
605 John Bremner
871 Jensen Bell

1300 Stock Cars
4 Tommy Smith
10 Patrick Calderwood
20 Sandy Allen
22 Steven Gold
33 Scott Mair
42 Billy Wilson
75 Michael Courts
88 William Stawiarski
100 Sean Naismith
110 Craig Connelly
111 Regan Watson
118 Corey Robertson
124 Andrew Mathieson
126 Danny Whyte
654 Eddie Corr
700 Rory Naismith
969 John Whyte

CC Rods
9 Vernon Sutherland
13 Shane Allen
69 Graham Campbell
71 Emma Kirk
176 Gary Nicholls
224 Dylan Coutts
232 Andy Nelson
267 Lee Wotherspoon
289 Kyle Hutchison
337 Lee Scott
518 Daniel MacDonald*
671 Brandon Gourlay
679 Craig Watson
822 Paul Winfield

7 Charlie Hardie
21 Ethan Doull
28 Mirran Adams
50 Ross Lawrence
67 Melissa Maver
111 Koddi Wright
128 Ciaran Adams
145 Rachel Kidd
159 Lia Heeps
165 Jamie Dawson
172 Rian Mitchell
178 Scott Allardyce
199 Mitchell Gold
210 Aaron Richards
484 Dean Heeps
603 Brandon Morton
612 Jay Paterson
627 Andrew Scott
629 Taylor Borthwick
648 Robbie Hamilton
682 Max Walker
684 Robbie Armit
688 Lauren Ford